Administrative Division

Captain Justin AndersonCaptain Justin Anderson oversees the administrative operations of the Police Department. Services provided under this division include:

Criminal Investigations

Responsible for the preparation of all gross misdemeanor and felony cases.  Sergeant Mike Whitaker is the unit supervisor and oversees Investigators Chad Hagen, Derek Nelson, and the assigned Anoka-Hennepin Drug and Violent Crimes Task Force Investigator.

Records Unit

Responsible for keeping the records for the Anoka Police Department. Our 3 full-time technicians and one part-time technician generally are very busy keeping up with the roughly 23,000 reported calls for service our agency receives.  

Community Service Unit

The Community Service Officers (CSOs) are two full-time non-sworn police employees who are charged with providing vital support services for the patrol unit as well as selected special services within the community

Juvenile Unit

Responsible for the School Liaison Program, the investigation of juvenile crime, the D.A.R.E. program, and the nationally recognized Police Accountability Conferencing Program

Anoka-Hennepin Narcotics & Violent Crime Task Force

One Anoka Police Officer is assigned to participate in the Anoka-Hennepin Narcotics & Violent Crime Task Force.  This unit is comprised of officers from the Anoka County Sheriff’s Office and the Blaine, Champlin, Fridley, Coon Rapids, Columbia Heights, Ramsey, Rogers, and Maple Grove Police Departments. 


When an incident requires specialized equipment or tactics within the city beyond that which can be provided by patrol personnel, we call in SWAT.  This unit is a part-time specialty assignment that each officer has to try out for and be selected by the existing group members.  

C.O.P.P.S. Unit

A proactive policing approach was created in January 2016 when Officer Paul Schley was assigned as the first Community Oriented Policing & Problem Solving Unit Officer.  Officers currently assigned to the unit are Officer Zach Robertson, Officer Eric Groebner, and Crime Prevention Technician Nicole Neis.  This unit is responsible for administering the City’s Crime-Free Multi-Housing program as well as being the liaison for Downtown Businesses. 

  1. Administrative Division

    Physical Address
    275 Harrison St
    Anoka, MN 55303

    Fax: 763-576-2802
    Emergency Phone: 911

  2. Justin Anderson


  3. Mike Whitaker

    Criminal Investigation Sergeant